Supreme Court Ruling: Tinubu Meets Ganduje, Kano APC Leaders In Aso Rock

On Thursday, a gathering took place between President Bola Tinubu and a delegation representing the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kano State.

Plateau News has reported that President Bola Tinubu held a closed-door meeting with leaders of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa in Abuja. The delegation, led by APC Chairman and former Kano State Governor Abdullahi Ganduje, included his one-time deputy and the party’s candidate in the March 18 governorship election, Nasir Gawuna.

The specific agenda of the meeting, which took place on Thursday, was not disclosed, and attendees did not provide statements to State House correspondents.

FG Approves Increase In Electricity Tariff (See New Rates)

This meeting occurred just a week after the Supreme Court ruled in favor of Abba Yusuf of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) as the duly elected governor of Kano State. In the March 2023 election, power shifted from the APC when Gawuna conceded defeat with 890,705 votes, trailing behind Yusuf, who was declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) with 1,019,602 votes.

Despite initially conceding defeat, the APC candidate contested the election results in court. On November 17, 2023, the Abuja Division of the Court of Appeal nullified Governor Yusuf’s election, supporting the tribunal’s decision that declared Gawuna the rightful winner. The tribunal, led by Justice Oluyemi Osadebay, invalidated 165,663 of Yusuf’s votes.

Subsequently, the NNPP filed a notice of appeal before the Supreme Court, challenging the Court of Appeal’s judgment five days later.

On January 12, the Supreme Court overturned the previous decision of the Court of Appeal, reinstating Abba Yusuf as the governor of Kano State. This reversal nullified the earlier judgment that had declared Nasir Gawuna the winner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *